But here…

Well, here’s another post about perspective. We’ve all heard it. Every story has 3 views or every coin has 2 sides. Perspective drives the view of so many things. No need to belabor this point.

I remember last year when I volunteered at the school. I love those children more than I probably should, but I’m wired this way to people will get over it. I love playing with them, listening to their stories, and letting them use me as a jungle gym. But the perspective to some their was that it was weird. I mean, who’s husband just does that? It’s unconformable for some and bystanders might misconstrue what they see and make allegations. I understand some of the hesitation. Because really…how many guys are volunteering to play with kids during their recess and eat lunch with them? Not enough, I’ll tell you that much. But it doesn’t happen a lot and so in our culture it’s odd.

That’s one perspective.

Here’s another. Tonight is week 9 of our foster class. To the agency and a family…me wanting to take in a child (whom I don’t know), play with them, care for them, take them to school, feed and nurture…could be a blessing. My wife and I will soon be taking care of someone else’s child while they get back on track and to the agency and the child, it’s wonderful. But I guess to some this too is weird and not normal.

So…here we are. At one perspective, caring for kids and giving them attention are questionable and weird. But here…wherever I dwell…it will be called love.

Be kind to each other  🙂

~J

Mark 10.13

Leave a Reply

